Enduring the endurance

After I had completed a couple of CrossFit classes, I decided to sign up for the ‘CrossFit Endurance’ class. Because why wouldn’t I do something so crazy…? It sounded like it was going to be tough, enduring, almost? I wasn’t wrong.

After a quick warm up, everyone was asked to find a partner. My brain immediately went into a mad panic as I regressed back to school PE lessons. No one wants to be picked last! Luckily another woman walked up to me with a smile on her face and asked to partner up (poor woman… she didn’t know what she had let herself in for….!)

For this workout, we had to complete as many reps as possible in 30 seconds followed by your partner doing 30 seconds, for an entire 50 minutes.

The workout consisted of the following:

  • Burpees
  • Wall balls
  • Kettlebell swings
  • Squat to press
  • Assault bike
  • Ski erg
  • Press ups
  • Thrusters

What did I learn?

  • I’m very unfit, but so are other people! Having the ability to lift heavy things requires very different skills to being able to push yourself aerobically for a full fifty minutes. Everyone is different, and everyone is going to be good at different things
  • Partner workouts are the best. Having a second person there to push you through it is invaluable for someone like me
  • Exercise is fun! The atmosphere in this class was incredible; everyone was determined to give it a go and just get the work done
  • Fifty minutes goes faster than you think when you’re working out
  • Wall balls are still insanely difficult but I managed to do actually hit the target a few times on this workout
  • Assault bikes ARE as tough as they look
  • My squats are still terrible

 

I left this class feeling completely different to the previous workouts. It was so exhausting, and I looked like I had been thrown into a swamp, dragged around by a crocodile and spat back out again. (i.e. it wasn’t a pretty sight) But as much as I felt like I had failed as I perhaps hadn’t completed as much as some of the other people in the class, I still walked away feeling proud of myself.

If I told myself two months ago that I would have just completed a 50 minute high intensity workout, I sure as hell wouldn’t have believed myself.

Leave a Reply

